Top three guitarists

My number one instrument is the guitar. I’ve been playing since I was about 8. A lot of my music that I listen to is inspired by me playing the guitar. So I thought I’d share with you my top three guitarists.My choices don’t necessarily mean they are as good as I think they are but I have a lot of admiration for them.

3. Jimmy Page- Led Zeppelin

What gets me about Page is how much he can play. He can blow you away with slow melodies such as the classic Stairway to Heaven and then trip you out with his work on When The levee Breaks, you are also welcome to some hard hitting riffs that leave your face melted like Heartbreaker and Black Dog. He completely owned his part in the band and still to this day is considered one of the best.

2.John Frusciante- Red Hot Chilli Peppers/Solo

Frusciante made his mark by playing with the chilli peppers. I love his smooth style of playing. It doesn’t need to be loud and fast for it to be good. He almost lets the guitar speak for itself. Under the Bridge, Scar Tissue and Snow(Hey Oh) are just some examples of where his skill outshines the rest of the band. Even his solo stuff which at points is questionable, is still very creative and he uses the guitar to it’s fullest

1..Jimi Hendrix

To be honest this doesn’t even need explaining. There are very few words that would even credit Hendrix for how good he is at guitar. Pretty much the godfather of guitar. As soon as he starts playing your just left in awe and amazement. Listen to Voodoo Child and you won’t believe what you just heard.

 

Photo credit:David Redfernjimi-hendrix_reuters

Leave a Reply

